Some people think nurses should be paid more. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that nurses should be receive higher salary than previously because workload and long shift, while some people think that change the pattern and reduce workload are better. From my point of view, I totally agree with the prior view with many reasons and I will describe these in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, many people know that nurses are hard work, long shift which is around 12 hours and have to work in a night shift that affect to their health and life cycles, while their incomes are so low compared with their workload that led to nurses are out of passion to work and shortage of staffs. For example, in Thailand, nurses who work in public hospitals have salary around 15,000 bath/month, which is not enough to spend expenses in living. As a result, they have to work for many part-time jobs, sleepless and no work life balance.

On the other hand, some people think that the hospitals should change the pattern of work of nurses, such as decrease hours of shifts, limit quantity of patients and many benefits to staff more than increase their salary to encourage their feeling to work. For instance, some private hospital in Thailand give 3 vacations/year to their staff for increase their passion to work long term in their companies. Resulting in some nurses still work with them for at least3 -5 years.

In conclusion, I firmly agree with increasing the salary of nurse since they are hard work, have a long shift and have a health problems from sleepless. Changing style of work is a good way to improve these problems, but higher salary is more crucial in inflation that individuals have to encounter nowadays.