Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects while others believe that this is a waste of a valuable school time. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

There is different public debate today that whether secondary school should set up a course to learn international news. As far as I am concerned that it has a significant benefit to study international news, but students should not be forced to learn it.

Obviously, studying international news as a school subject will occupy student’s times from their core curriculum which is the only way to go to university by the national college entrance examination that holding annually in China, called Gaokao. There is no denying the fact that adolescent’s course load is heaviest in the term of middle school. A case in point is that middle school students have to study from 7:30am to 8:00pm and thus it will overload their plate. Furthermore, it also will lead to influence their future development and to increase school expenses in hiring teachers.

It is clear that studying international news has many advantages. On the one hand, junior high school students have not established the world view. So, studying international news can broaden their horizons, increase their knowledge base, appreciate the diversity of different cultures and explore new possibilities. On the other hand, international news help children to improve their cognition of the world and build positive values.

In conclusion, I believe that studying international news should not be a subject for students. but we ought to encourage students to realize it as an optional course in their spire time. There are many ways to study international news, for instant, watching current events on TV, subscribing to foreign magazines online, and attending club activities.