Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects while others believe that this is a waste of a valuable school time. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about studying international publications of children as a core subject in the secondary school. Yet, there are others who think that they can be wasteful regarding school time. I personally believe that they can be beneficial for school pupils to facilitate global awareness and critical thinking.

To begin with, there are several reasons why international news should not be studied as a school subject. First and foremost, some global news can be challenging and complex for them to analyze or understand the meaning of the publication according to the children’s age. As a result, they may feel demotivated and frustrated because of being immature. Another factor is that it may be a curriculum overload. Since their time is not only limited to learn these mandatory subjects, such as mathematics, science, and history which is indispensable, but also they should have extra time to work on self-improvement for their bright future. Therefore, international news is a waste of time for pupils studying in the secondary school.

On the other hand, learning worldwide publications in schools is a great way to get informed what is going on in their country as well as all over the world, and they enable school children to improve their critical thinking abilities, which is vital in professional and personal life in the long term. Understanding international news allows them not only to become an informed global citizen but also they learn about different cultures, political system, and global issues, fostering a broader worldview. In addition, as a consequence of analyzing and scrutinizing global news, they can cultivate the critical thinking abilities which enables them to communicate with any people about a wide range of topics due to enough knowledge. Hence, news should be added to school curriculum as a core subject.

In conclusion, although studying international news can be complicated to catch the meaning and an overload due to limited time, they are more advantageous for children to broaden their horizon and cognitive abilities in terms of global awareness.