Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects while others believe that this is a waste of a valuable school time. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, learning about the news from different parts of the world is crucial to many individuals. It has been suggested that the review of such news should become a high school subject while some think this would waste school time. I believe this is a great idea provided inappropriate news is filtered out and there is enough time for other important subjects.

To begin, reviewing global news is able to assist high school students to look up their common knowledge in areas like geography and culture. This is because the news comes from around the world and often presents significant details about different regions and their features, which means pupils would possibly gain a better understanding of the world. It also seems that studying the news is able to develop the students’ ability to analyze sophisticated situations because when they follow a story, say, about a political rift between two countries, they can observe how it flourishes or escalates, how the parties involved act and what its consequences are.

On the other hand, there are more problems with studying global news in secondary school. The violence portrayed in many of today’s news stories could affect students’ conduct. For instance, currently, almost every newspaper and news on social media is filled with images and stories of bullying which would suffer from mental health. That case is likely to make youngsters feel scared and uncomfortable in their circumstances. Furthermore, reading and analyzing the news would probably be a time-consuming activity, leaving insufficient time for the more important subjects and activities like science, math, or physical education.

To sum up, I believe it is wise for secondary school pupils to study universal news at school as it may advance their general knowledge and ability to comprehend the world. Meanwhile, they should avoid violent stories, and there should be enough time left for the more essential subject.