One result of advances in medical care is that life expectancy has increased around the world. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that one outcome of advances in healthcare is that life expectancy has risen around the globe. Although this trend has certain merits, I strongly believe that the demerits outweigh the advantages for several reasons.

To begin with, the most significant advantage is not only increased lifespan but improved quality of life. To justify it further, advancements in the healthcare industry are leading to improved health conditions with treatment of illness. For example, in this entire world, many individuals suffer from heavy diseases such as cancer or brain tumors, but these can now be solved by advanced treatment, which is leading to a longer life.

On the other hand, there are numerous demerits associated with this issue. Firstly, overpopulation concepts, which lead to a lack of housing and food products. Lack of resources causes scarcity; moreover, whether they are self-sufficient or not, they have health-related issues. For instance, in many countries, people do not have sufficient medical facilities, yet they are living longer life, which creates a financial burden and overpopulation.

Furthermore, the last contributing reason is the creation of a job shortage for youth. To be more specific, if older people stay at the workplace, it reduces chances for youth to get a job. As an epitome, due to longer life expectancy, older people will not retire early, and it can reduce job vacancies and create high unemployment among young people.

In conclusion, while there are some positive aspects related to longer lifespan, the drawbacks are far more significant for youth, families, and countries. Therefore, it is clear that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, such as financial burden and overpopulation.