IELTS Writing Task 2/ IELTS Essay: Write about the following topic: In some places, money earned from tourism has become an important part of the economy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of relying on tourism as a major source of revenue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many countries promote international tourism as a major source of revenue. There are both benefits and drawbacks to relying on the tourism industry. This essay will present my opinion on the advantages and disadvantages.

There are many advantages in tourism as a major source of income for a country. The primary reason is that tourism provides local jobs, for example, when tourists buy souvenirs or go to a restaurant. As a result, local communities receive money from tourists. Also, international tourism helps traditional industries, such as the manufacture of local products, which can represent their identity, design and creativity. For instance, handcrafted gifts, traditional clothes, silk products and bags. On top of this, it also encourages cultural exchange.

On the other hand, promoting tourism can lead to several issues as well as overcrowded tend to cause negative impacts especially on long-term environmental consequences. For example, excessive waste from tourist activities, natural resources harmful, coral reef and water contamination from boat. Additionally, transportation not only affects air pollution but also result in health problems. As a result, the environment damages potentially bring about to serious concern and requires solutions to reduce problems, and it may cost a huge number of funding from government.

In conclusion, there are many advantages in tourism particularly the source of economic income. However, it may cause negative impacts on long-term environmental problems. Therefore, the environment damages potentially bring about to severe consideration and requires solutions to solve the issues, and it may cost a huge number of funding from government.