Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over recent years, the topic of the subjects that students should study academically has continued to be a widely discussed issue among many nations, leading to numerous different arguments. Many argue that students ought to opt for food-related courses, while others believe that it is an absolute necessity to seek the core academic subjects and science-based curriculum. In this essay, we will discuss both different debates.

On the one hand, the supporters of placing a premium on studying food science rely on two underlying reasons, First and foremost, they cite that practical skills such as food science are highly essential for students, in particular for those who are far away from their homes. In this regard, they should know how to make and prepare some important edible supplies. Secondly, it might be said that living in this consumer society tends to force and impel everyone to be able to learn and increase their awareness of foods and related items. Thus, learning academically about food-based trade is seen as a lucrative trade and perhaps it would guarantee student’s future, as well.

On the other hand, it can be argued that the proponents of the given idea claim that science-based knowledge, ranging from chemistry to mathematics, should be our priority. In today’s technology-focused world, students should be able to think critically and be creative rather than dedicating their time to basic and unnecessary subjects such as food science. In addition, it would appear that a considerable number of student have no interests in food science and they would like to pursue their own favorite subjects.

To sum up, it would seem that we should not play down the importance of science-based subjects and they are the must-have items and so crucial for human purposes.