Some people think that an enhanced quality of life can only be achieved with economic development. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some individuals are of the opinion that enhancing the quality of life can only be improved if the economy develops at an optimal rate. Personally, I partly agree with this school of thought due to some major reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, economic growth might provide support in terms of finances for citizens which possibly increase the quality of life. To be more specific, a high quality of living means that every citizen can get access to education and healthcare regardless of their income or social status. If a nation is economically developed, it would ensure enough budget to cover both aspects, maintaining the best level of career prospects and health protection for citizens. As a result, it will be more likely to maintain the well-being of people both physically and mentally. This is why many extol the ideas that economic progress is a vital part of elevating the quality life of citizens.

On the other hand, as economic development without other issues, there exists potentially several drawbacks influencing human beings such as decline in social values and environmental degradation. When people become more focused on acquiring material possessions, equating wealth with happiness, they may be prone to become self-centered, ignoring the benefits of community. Consequently, this leads to the lack of empathy and ethical behaviors which can probably result in losing a sense of community. Moreover, economic growth can contribute to environmental issues and ecological damage. Due to excess consumerism and industrial activities, the emission and toxic waste are emitted significantly, causing health problems which are unavoidable. Therefore, economic development is not enough to bring the best quality of life for people.

In conclusion, although focusing on improving economics elevates the quality life of citizens, I believe that this method may have several negative aspects.