Some people think that an enhanced quality of life can only be achieved with economic development. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that the best way to enhance human living quality is to foster economic growth. Personally, while this statement is true to some extent, I contend that several aspects such as health risks and education should not be underestimated.

Focusing wholly on economic development to achieve enhanced living quality is beneficial to some extent. In the past, as wars have taken place for a long time, national budgets were allocated mainly for military purposes such as weapons or food. This expenditure was admittedly excessive, which lowered both the national economy and the average income of citizens, letting poverty and deprivation still thrive in some areas, especially undeveloped ones like Viet Nam. However, in this fast-paced world, due to the existence of independence and peace, a large portion of countries are paying much attention to fostering GDP and GNI, or to increase the general income of an average person. As a consequence, this growth is attributed to the governments’ budgets, being invested into enhancing public amenities and facilitating the poor with subsidies, potentially making their life increasingly convenient and effortless. For example, the advent of planes, which are manufactured with the partial expenditure of governments, provides citizens with time-saving travel and global transportation of goods.

Having said that, economic prosperity is not the only efficient way to boost human living quality. As industrialisation is significantly carried out in several nations, they put lots of money into bringing out innovative technology that might be effective, which can lower the amount of work. However, while it seems to be beneficial, its impacts on the environment and humans are not negligible. The harmful substances like CO2 are emitted from industrial activities daily, which contribute to health problems as humans inhale them. For example, the CFCs emitted by air-conditioners enlarge the hole in the ozone layer, permitting the harmful radiation originated from the sun exposed to our skin, which leads to an increasing number of skin cancers in some affected areas. Therefore, medical solutions should be researched to enhance this issue. In order to achieve these answers, institutional activities should be emphasised to educate students not only to know the ways to mitigate these issues, but also to become experts examining and finding ways to tackle existing health and environmental problems.

In conclusion, while boosting the economy seems to be advantageous, it is not the most crucial key in enhancing human quality of life. Nevertheless, this activity affects human health and the environment, which can be resolved by highlighting the importance of them on school curricula.