Some people think that big companies should provide sports and social facilities for the local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that it is advisable for large enterprises to allocate budget in constructing sports and public amenities for local populace. From my perspective, I totally disapprove of this viewpoint as it is not the duty of the businesses.

One legitimate reason to support my stance is that there is no need for the companies to build recreational initiatives for the locals. This is because the primary purpose of a business is to manufacture and generate revenue for the owners, at least it offers a lot of job opportunities for people in the area. Instead, providing public constructions belongs to the authorities’s responsibilities in which they have to ensure their citizenry’s overall well-being.

Another possible justification for my disagreement is about prolonged environmental issues. There is no doubt that a lot of large companies have been detrimentally affecting the environment through industrial waste including toxic gas and water from their factories and plants discharging into our living habitats. Formosa Firm, for example, made headlines a couple of years ago by emitting a massive amount of radioactive water into the ocean leading to the death of plenty of marine life in the north of Vietnam. Moreover, inhaling polluted air and consuming toxic nourishments also result in numerous waterborne and respiratory diseases such as asthma, pneumonia, dysentery and cholera.

In conclusion, I firmly opine that the lawmakers should emphasize on the dwellers’s health instead of the enterprises who would rather invest more in environmental preservation and protecting wildlife. Where possible, it is imperative for the government to launch public education campaigns to encourage sporting habits.