Some people think that big companies should provide sports and social facilities for the local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a number of viewpoints supposing that it should be the responsibility of big enterprises to furnish sport and social amenities for the local residents. This essay will delve into my perspective that I partly agree with this idea due to some extent.

On the one hand, there are two primary rationales of why the local community should be given the social and sport stuff by large firms. The foremost one is that it can make a sizable contribution towards the proliferation of companies. More specifically, by investing in numerous local facilities, they can ameliorate their brand reputation and enhance their public image, which can increasingly build a loyal customer base and attract the external investment, thereby resulting in the handsome profit and thriving economy. Another point is that this can do wonders for local individuals to have a good overall well-being. For instance, on the grounds of being more exposed to sport equipment such as gyms, yoga practice rooms or the like, they may be offered a chance to work out which leads to better physical health.

On the other hand, it is also plausible to claim that the idea of big enterprises providing sports and social facilities for the public may exert some negative aspects. To commence, this practice may take a heavy toll on the companies’ coffers. In other words, spending a huge amount of money constructing buildings and maintaining them might be a significant financial burden and thereby negatively affect their profitability and growth. Furthermore, it may be more reasonable that the governments are primarily responsible for equipping those amenities. This is given that the national budget partly comes from taxes of civilians, the authorities should allocate money to build and maintain public facilities which includes sport and social ones.

In conclusion, I am not entirely inclined with the opinion that big companies should take the responsibility to serve sport and recreational amenities for the public due to its positives and drawbacks.