Some people think that by educating people about the problems of eating too much fast food has no effect and that other measures should be taken to tackle this issue. What is your opinion?

In today’s modern society, fast food is inevitable in people’s life, although it is unhealthy. A school of thought is claimed that current educational measures leave a negligible effect on people’s concious about this industry, and other ways should be taken, instead. As far as I’m concerned, I partly agree with this assumption because of these following reasons.

Firstly, educating citizens may gains considerable positivity in terms of refraining from eating too much processed products. This is the first stage, which is usually taken by education-related authorities, to raise awareness to everyone, especially children. For instance, schools can provide extracurricular activities in regard to food nutrition and the food pyramid. In addition, government can broadly broadcast propagandas about the negative effects when one absorbs a massive amount of fat and sodium; hence individuals can take care of themselves and choose healthy products for them to use.

On the other hand, it is superfluous when government is only saying without giving pratical ways to prevent fast food industry attaching too much in residents’ diet. Besides raising awareness, applying tax on commodities that contain too much sugar and fat, is also an effective method which makes people buy less because of their prices. Moreover, fresh vegetables and fruits should be promoted more to attract consumers to consume. These steps are able to make their decisions change from choosing fast food to the better and healthy varieties.

To conclude, every stage should be maintained constantly: altering one’s lifestyle first by education then using power to govern citizen’s food choices. I beleve both of them should be kept in the long run.