Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While considering the importance of specific buildings that are old, many maintain the belief that some of them are more worthy of saving rather than the rest of them. Therefore, taking the cruciality of historic properties in each society, I take the view that to some extent it is true to care more about a number of them.

To begin with, it is evident that several individuals hold on to the thought that all prehistoric man-made places deserve the same care. However, the lack of resources and financial support can lead to a reduction in supporting all of them along with losing the chance of even preserving a few of them. Therefore, using all the sources to gather help, in my opinion, would not be the preferred approach since it carries more adverse effects if the chances of failure are analyzed thoroughly. For instance, as the mayor of Shiraz, a city in Iran, tried to attain the goal of saving all old spaces a few years ago, due to the lost human and financial resources, he failed to save any of them although he might have succeeded if he was not too greedy and focused on one singular place.

On the other hand, I must admit that I highly disagree with spreading the care that society is capable of providing. In my opinion, only a few that are more valuable or in danger must be chosen. Moreover, the properties that are mainly the representatives of each culture should be obligated to be chosen along with the ones that form the history of each society. Therefore, as the care is mostly devoted to the endangered ones, they would most likely be kept for future generations as its benefits would lie in the influence of the culture of the society through educational methods. Additionally, the Time Museum which is located in Tehran, the capital city of Iran, is a vivid example of how focusing on each building can lead to preserving it for the future as it is a place that has been the destination of school trips for many years.

In conclusion, although all old buildings deserve the care needed, the critical impact of preserving an outstanding number of them cannot be ignored. Consequently, it is hoped that presenting the influence of owning ancient space would contribute to the accuracy of the help provided by both the government and individuals through efficient explanation in social media publicly.