Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that historic structures hold more value and should be carefully preserved. While preserving old buildings is somewhat justifiable, I disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, there is acknowledgement that maintaining buildings with significant historical importance and benefit tourism. The first reason is that old buildings that include structures that hold a significant amount of historical and cultural value within a city or country. Religious buildings, churches and temples, for instance, which are considered as old monuments and structures since they record important events in the past. Another benefit is that old buildings can generate profit for the development of tourism in the nation. This is mainly because older constructions hold unique designs which attract a plethora of tourists from all over the world, therefore, the tourism industry would develop.

However, I disagree with the aforementioned reasons since modern-day buildings should be paid attention equally due to several reasons. To begin with, the modern buildings would ensure the safety criterias since it can frequently be maintained in order to ensure for people living there. These buildings are constructed with good material compared to leaves in the past, so they are safer for people’s lives. In addition, as towns and cities grow and space becomes limited, the preservation of old buildings can impede the progress of a city. This is because most old buildings that tend to be preserved are no longer used for practical purposes. As a consequence, people’s lives can be improved if modern-day buildings gain popularity.

In conclusion, while old buildings hold culture and history in a country, I would contend that modern buildings should be equally preserved.