Some people think that childern should learn how to compete, but others think that childern should be taught to coperate to become more useful adults. Express some reasons for both views and give your own opinions.

There is an ongoing debate about whether children should be taught to compete with one another or to work in team. This essay will discuss both views, however I firmly agree that raising younger generation as being able to co-operate with one another would be more useful.

On the one hand, one group of people believe that adults should encourage a sense of competition in children. Initially, supporters of this point of view think that it is necessary to create a healthy rival atmosphere in learning process, because this stimulates children to try their best, develop their skills and enlarge their knowledge. Consequently, this approach makes them ready to face with high level competition in entering to university, finding a job and other situation. For example, in Azerbaijan you should be in the top of the high school graduates in order to get a scholarship.

On the other hand, working in team and co-operation have a significant impact on children. Meanwhile, instead of the wining and getting higher results, children should be focused on the learning, and teamwork is the best way to do it. Besides that, while learning together children analize their mistakes and teach one another. And, certainly, it helps them to be a productive member or a leader of a team in the future. For instance, a survey carried out by the University of Glasgow showed that students learn more while doing projects in team than those done individually.

In conclusion, although some people find it important to encourage rivalry in children, others, with whom I also agree, state that children taught to work in a team become more useful in the future.