Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are two opposite views as to competition and its necessity as a part of daily life, at school, and at work. Whereas some supports that competition is beneficial, there are others who thinks that it is not helpful at all , and people should strive to cooperate instead of competing against each other.

Competition might have strong impact on some people in encouraging them to work to become successful, and there might be a solid reason behind it. However, as most of the people would be adversely affected from it, it should not cover or control an important portion of our lives, thoughts and emotions. Regarding the previously stated solid reason for those who can stay out of compitition’s bad impacts, it might have to do with the concerned person’s own state of being , character, and his/her motivations that is shaped accordingly. For instance, if an individual always keeps his/her mind busy with reaching the best version of himself/herself and puts effort to achieve it, competition might not be a problem for them. In other words, this sort of self-centered focus might prevent one to be affected from potential negative impacts of competition. Thus, competition would not be an obstacle, but just a resource of ambition to prove their self-worth for those who only aims to reach their best version. However, I believe that the numbers of this type of strong characters are not many among the public. For this reason, the most people would tend to create tension, or even sabotage others in an obvious competative environement. To further illustrate the potential problems might arise from competititon, I know some people who does not even want apply to the Harvard University as they consider that the highly competitive nature of Harvard is not psychologically suitable for them.

In conclusion, although there might be some people who can take advantage of compitition, as they are rare, competition free environments where people can interact or work more cooperatively is the safest and best option considering the fact that everyone is not that strong pscyhologically.