Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many nations around the world rely on import and export systems to achieve their goals. As a developing country, Indonesia needs to cultivate positive relationships with other nations to support its ambition of becoming a developed country. Imported foods can support local culinary businesses, meet food needs, and contribute to the country’s economic growth. I firmly disagree with the idea of limiting the amount of food imported into Indonesia. In the following paragraphs, I will explain my perspective on this issue.

The most significant reason why I disagree for this is that, without support from other countries, Indonesia may struggle to thrive. Nowadays, local businesses are beginning to step out of their comfort zones and explore foreign food business. In particular, on Bangka Belitung Island, a variety of new foods from different cultures are shooting up. Dishes such as sushi, ramen, tacos, and kebabs imported from other nations, and they are helping to encourage economic growth.

This issue deserves careful consideration because there are some potential drawbacks that could affect our country. A balanced using of imported foods can make lots of benefits for global industries and support governments. However, over consuming on imported foods could have negative consequences for our nation. We need to maximize the potential of our agricultural sector, which is vital for Indonesia’s growth.

In conclusion, we cannot completely stop food imports, as they are essential for our way of life given our country’s limitations. Instead, we should wisely utilize our local products while also focusing on exporting them abroad so our products can be in an international level.