Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned. Others, however, believe that people should be free to choose sports activities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

When the topic of dangerous sport is discussed, it always divides individuals into two opposing groups. While some claim that such sports activities ought to be prohibited, others believe that people should have autonomy to do the activities of their choice. True, extreme sports put people’s lives at risk. I, however, support the latter view, as imposing a ban hardly ever stops people from engaging in dangerous sport.

Since dangerous sports are found too risky, causing injuries, and in a worst-case scenario, death due to the absence of safety measures, it is not uncommon to face conflicting claims about the ban of such sports. Each year, for instance, many enthusiasts driven by a need for adventure or a desire to test their physical capabilities end up either becoming, permanently, physically disabled or losing their lives. And worse, the examples of numerous athletes such as Dean Potter, world-famous wingsuit flier, who died when he jumped from a cliff, do not stop other so-called extreme sports fanatics from documenting their risky adventures in death-defying videos, even though they are acutely aware of putting their lives in danger.

However, not everyone is unanimous in supporting this view. People advocate that there should be freedom of choice with regard to activities they do, even they are dangerous. It is because banning can be counterproductive, as people, by nature, are inclined to specially try things that are proscribed. Besides, they claim that people are highly safety conscious. In other words, they fully understand what adverse ramifications their blunder may cause and take safety precautions beforehand.

In conclusion, I believe that dangerous sports are indeed a risky business, and yet I oppose the idea of banning them in favor of supporting the latter view. I agree that imposing restrictions on such sports only increases the number of devotees desperately taking risks. And although I hardly believe that people always take safety measures, because otherwise fatalities would not occur, I suppose that people’s right and autonomy should not be limited.