Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The topic of environmental protection is a very contentious one. Proponents argue that individual actions are too insignificant to address the problem, and their view stems from the standpoint that the major contributors of climate change are corporations. Meanwhile, opponents believe that individual actions can produce remarkable results if everyone does their part responsibly. In this essay, I will elucidate both of these perspectives along with my opinion, which is biased towards the latter side.

On one side, people believe that individual actions to protect environment are futile. Their belief is based on the perspective that corporates damage the nature by emitting green house gases, releasing untreated sewage in water bodies and deforestation. Hence, it will make no difference if they opt for environment friendly lifestyle because the damage done by the conglomerates will continue, moreover, it will negate any positive deed done by a person. For instance, a thermal power plant uses more than a million tons of coal every day. By combusting this fossil fuel, they release a lot of green house gases in the atmosphere. Therefore, a person will feel insignificant compared to the power plant’s emissions if he opts to use an electric car to reduce his emissions.

Conversely, opponents are of the view that small actions can make a remarkable difference, if everyone does their part. It is true that corporates contribute a lot to climate change, however, statistical data suggests that more than 50% of the green house gases are produced by personal automobiles. It seems impossible to protect the environment alone, however, millions of individuals together can make a notable difference in this struggle. By incorporating activities like carpooling, the number of vehicles can be reduced on the streets, less cars means less carbon emissions, which will consequently protect the environment. Therefore, meaningful actions took by millions can make a sizeable contribution to climate conservation.

In my opinion, the latter view regarding meaningful individual actions contributing immensely to the noble cause is the way to environmental protection. Although, one’s actions for the cause seems insignificant, the combined result of millions of such actions can make a valuable difference. For example, In Japan, it is customary to sort garbage based on their type and every national takes this task seriously. Because of that, Japanese government is able to sort and recycle garbage conveniently, which is a very important step in protecting nature.

In conclusion, it is undeniably true that corporations are a major contributor to environmental damage, however, the combined individual damage is also significant. Therefore, necessary steps should be taken by everyone to reduce their carbon footprint, since small actions can make a big difference if each of us does our part diligently.