Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views about whether individuals could play a part in addressing environmental issues While some people argue there is nothing much individuals can do about these problems, I personally believe that progress cannot be achieved without individuals’ actions.

On the one hand, it is evident that several environmental problems are complex and surpasses the capabilities of individuals acting alone. Owing to the magnitude and complexity of challenges, namely climate change or deforestation, it requires large-scale initiatives and policies to deal with these issues. For example, governments can impose strict punishments on those who cut down trees illegally to tackle the problem of deforestation. In addition, only governments and organizations have sufficient funds and resources to effectively address environmental problems. This is because in order to solve such issues, the investment in the latest technological equipment and the vast number of experienced scientists are indispensable.

Despite arguments suggesting that individuals are incapable of coping with environmental issues, I believe that individuals should contribute to protecting the environment through some simple actions. First, people can gradually change their transportation habits. For example, residents can shift to using bicycles and subways instead of their private vehicles to reduce the tremendous amount of carbon dioxide released, which pollutes the air. Furthermore, although people cannot come up with comprehensive solutions, they can raise awareness and create a significant impact. When individuals take action, they will inspire and motivate others to follow and exert pressure on corporations and authorities to adopt more productive solutions.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that individuals cannot tackle complex environmental problems. However, I hold the opinion that progress may be impeded without the participation of individuals.