Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others believe individuals can contribute to important environmental changes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Global environmental issues are one of the major concerns around the world. While some people are of the opinion that each individual should alter their lifestyles to solve the problem, others believe that the governing authorities should take the initiative. This essay will discuss both the views and explain why it agrees with the latter view.

Proponents of the view that change should start at an individual level cite by adopting certain lifestyle modifications that are environment friendly. By adopting certain lifestyle changes, for example, less consumption of plastic, fossil fuels, and recycling, would lead to overall reduced carbon footprint. Ultimately, this would lead to reduction in waste production and hence less pollution which would enhance quality of life. This helps in maintaining the natural balance due to reduced exploitation of the environmental resources.

Advocates of view that the governing authorities should take steps to address environmental problems as they possess the required power and resources to make difference on a widescale. Government could take certain initiatives, for instance, establishment of solar panels, windmills to harness electricity, tax incentives on excessive utilisation of fossil fuels, and banning plastic use. Moreover, authorities of various nations could form treaties to preserve the natural resources and its judicious use. If the appointed leaders introduce such programmes and take initiatives, it would raise awareness among the general public and hence, they would tend to follow.

In conclusion, it can be agreed that environmental issues can be addressed at an individual level by altering some lifestyle choices which would help mainly in reduction of the carbon footprint. But, in my opinion, government should take the lead as they have the power and necessary resources to reverse environmental problems on a large scale.