Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe , it is better to deal with them nationally

Over the past decades, there is a growing concern regarding the deteriorating environmental conditions on our planet. Multiple projects have been implemented at global as well as national levels to solve those issues, however there is a debate on which is more effective. In this essay, I intend to discuss both views and express my opinion regarding this.

Some people believe that it is necessary to deal with environmental issues at a global level. They argue that since the resources across different nations vary widely, it might be difficult for countries to implement suggested strategies efficiently. Many developing countries, unlike the developed ones, aren’t as financially equipped to implement large scale projects. For instance, in the 2012 agenda of cutting down carbon dioxide emissions, countries decided to reduce the levels by capping the number of diesel vehicles and encouraging the use of electric vehicles. While governments in wealthier countries were able to support their people in acquiring such vehicles by providing financial aid, the same could not be done in the poorer nations. This is one example that implies that global efforts has to be taken by organisations such as the UN in proposing strategies and execution plans for mitigating the environmental problems concerning the planet.

However, others argue that there are limitations in executing global projects and that environmental solutions are best implemented at national levels. One reason for this is that, different parts of the community get involved in a nation wide project ensuring better and more focused results. For example, the government of India has launched the ‘Clean India, Green India’ mission in which women of backward communities are employed by the local governing bodies to collect plastic waste from homes, segregate them and facilitate recycling. This project has seen huge success and the plastic waste in dumps have reduced by upto 60% in the last 10 years.

In conclusion, while both sides have valid arguments, I believe that solving environmental challenges at the national scale proves to be more effective when it comes to the execution level. However having global projects push nations to work together towards protecting the planet.