Some people think that genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the majority of people consume the food with GMOs and endorse the idea of genetically modified crops in favour of their resilience. However, I agree with another opinion that genetically modified food is, indeed, more harmful and might have negative impact on people’s health. In this essay I will elucidate both arguments on this controversial issue.

On the one hand, there are plenty of advantages of GMOs, and the most essential of them is their ability to resist pests which makes them distinguished to be stored for a longer period of time. Furthermore, most individuals become more dependable on the genetically modified food because it reduces the waste of recourses on a daily basis. The first genetically modified tomato was called Flavr Savr, and the company that produces those types of tomatoes suspended their ripening process by adding vitamins which led to the increased numbers of customers.

On the other hand, despite all the benefits and reliability, genetically modified food is not proven to be entirely harmless to people. In order to make them pest-resistant, scientists insert certain genes into the food that can have a detrimental reaction within the human’s body that can be depicted in allergic reactions. Moreover, recent researches show that since milk cannot be precisely genetically modified, Chinese scientists inserted human genes into the cows to produce low lactose milk for those who are lactose-intolerant. There is no evidence whether human genes are dissected enough to be in a normal relation with person’s organism and not to cause any diseases such as toxicity, allergies and even cancer. Thus, I totally stick to the point that GMOs should not be wildspread without any cautious estimations in terms of safe consumption.

In conclusion, whereas the resilience of genetically modified crops is highly glorified, I presume that there is a potential danger in a GMO. The food that was altered by genetic engineering should be distributed properly, once science proved them to be completely safe for health.