Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so mediacal services should be run profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh disadvantages

It is common to see that private healthcare systems are becoming more prevalent in many parts of the world. In spite of certain glaring drawbacks of this trend, I would opine that the benefits of this trend are more decisive.

On one hand, private healthcare systems pose certain pitfalls for individuals. First, its cost is exorbitant for the general public. In more detail, health insurance, which would help you to reduce medical costs, can not be used in private hospitals since bills in these institutions can not be covered by insurance companies. Therefore, people often need to prepare for a huge sum if they want to use the services in a private hospital. Subsequently, there would be some risks to the treatment in this kind of hospital. In particular, private healthcare systems are not controlled by the Ministry of Health; therefore, the treatment of these systems might be unqualified and not safe for patients.

On the other hand, the aforementioned hindrances are eclipsed by its beneficial impacts. The first merit is that customers can experience personalized treatment. In other words, patients usually do not have to share their room with others which is rare in a public hospital. Thus, they can completely recover without the risks of contracting diseases from some patients who have respiratory problems. Moreover, private healthcare systems can offer greater amenities and personalized services. To be more specific, patients do not have to queue for elevators or wait too long for their turns to be diagnosed and they can also choose their own personal doctor in order to create a sense of security.

In conclusion, although private hospitals certainly have a few demerits, it seems to me that the benefits of this type of hospital overshadow its drawbacks.