Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so mediacal services should be run profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh disadvantages

Opinions are divided on whether private businesses should run private healthcare centers because health plays an important role in humans’ lives. I strongly believe that the advantages of establishing the private sector clearly outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, private sector’s provision of healthcare may lead to unwanted problems. Firstly, in order to maximize earnings, private sectors may prescribe unnecessary medicines and conduct redundant examinations which will cost both money and time of the patients. Besides, due to the up-to-date devices that private healthcare centers possess, businesses may drive up medical expense which makes it inaccessible for the underprivileged. However, these drawbacks can be addressed by the policies enacted by the government. In order to avoid indiscriminate prescriptions, government may conduct regular inspections in private sectors and also ensure they comply with standard medical practices.

On the other hand, protecting the communities’ health is the top priority of many private healthcare centers. One reason is that the state-run systems in many countries such as Canada or England are not enough to meet public demand. Consequently, establishing private sectors will help reduce the burden on the government, otherwise patients will have to wait for a long time to receive services. Moreover, private healthcare centers are always under pressure to develop their services to attract customers. As a result, by advancing the facilities and highly training the medical staff, this will bring a lot of benefits to the patients and encourage the public sector to follow suit.

In conclusion, while private healthcare centers do have some drawbacks, their significant contributions to reducing public healthcare burden and improving service quality clearly outweigh these disadvantages.