Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that is money could be batter spent elswhere

It’s a debatable question whether the public money should be spent on preserving the arts or can be better used for something else. Though the arts is an essential component of our culture, they signify our values, beliefs, and identities across generations. However, in my opinion, the money should be better spent on education and building public infrastructure.

Firstly, Arts is an integral part of our society. It represents our rich culture, history, and belief system on which our modern society is working. However, the money spent on preserving arts like paintings, sculptures, and ancient buildings can be used efficiently to solve modern-day problems. This money can be used for the improvement of the education system. For example, by building new schools in the rural and tribal areas, giving better remuneration to the teachers and professors so that youngsters are motivated to profess professions in schools and colleges.

Secondly, this money can be used to build public infrastructure like roads, ports, trade corridors etc. This will enhance the quality of life of the general public and give an economic boost to the country. Because with better connectivity of roads, industries can ship their products to the foreign countries. For instance, with the development of Express way from Delhi to Amritsar, the travelling distance between these two cities has been reduced to half. Because only big trucks and lorries are allowed on this routes.

In Conclusion, the arts is an important component of our society and should be preserved. However, in my view, the money should be spent on building public infrastructure and on the betterment of society by spending on Education.