Some people think that government should subsidize fruits and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Others argue that government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been debates about the role a government can play in enforcing healthy eating habits among people. Where some of the population has an opinion that government can promote healthy food consumption by reducing the prices of vegetables and fruits, others believe that increasing the tax on junk food can discourage its consumption. In this essay we will discuss both of the arguments and analyze them critically, however, in my opinion both of these initiatives can be an effective strategy to promoting healthy eating among consumers.

Firstly, reducing prices of organic foods can make it affordable for masses. Although, wealthy class of society can currently afford organic products every once in a while, if not for every day, but lower and middle class of society, that’s makes up to 70 to 80 percent population of whole world, cannot even think of including fruits and vegetables in their regular diet, as it will disturb their monthly budgets. However, if government initiates subsidizing organic products, then it will be in purchasing power of every consumer. In believe that everyone, either rich or poor, prefers to have a nutritious diet to stay in good health, so reducing the overall prices of fruits and vegetables can promote healthy consumption decision making in society at a greater level.

Secondly, increasing the cost of unhealthy food, such as fast food, can take away the buying power of consumers. Initially, fast food outlets captured their market share with a unique selling point of being affordable than regular restaurants, later on consumers got hooked up on junk food so much that they became insensitive towards the rising prices of the food, and now they have an addiction for pizzas or burgers. I think if government will increase the taxes, which will result a hike in the fast-food prices and that can trigger critical thinking among the junk-food consumers. Ultimately, that will discourage the consumption of such edibles.

To conclude, government should not only lower the prices of organic food items, such as fruits and vegetables, but also impose high taxes on foods which are detrimental for the health of its consumers.