Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g., 65 years) for everyone, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe certain workers should be allowed to retire earlier than others. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there is an ongoing debate on the ideal age of retirement. Some people argue that the minimum age to retire (65 years) for any roles is unfair. They believe there are many jobs that deserve to retire earlier than others. I strongly agree that workers should be allowed to retire earlier due to not every roles possible to do at old-age.

Retirement policy should be varied based on the requirements of the job descriptions. Jobs such as construction, firefighting, and nursing are physically demanding. As people getting older, their physical ability is decreasing and may lead to the human error. For example, a 60 years old firefighter will struggle holding the water-hose while fighting fire and other physical strength the job requires. It means very hard for them perform those tasks effectively at old age.

Moreover, age also associated with the vulnerability of mental health. People who are aged tend to struggle controlling their emotion, making them become emotional and may impacting their decision making. Jobs such as teaching requires the ability to controlling emotion to make sure the knowledge transfer runs effectively. It is important to address the root causes of mental health regarding people’s age

In conclusion, the standard age of retirement should be fair based on the requirements of jobs. The set retirement age may simplify the rules, however, the advantages should outweigh the disadvantages. A comprehensive analysis should be conducted for the best results.