Some people think that history has little or nothing meaning, while others think that hishry can help understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that history does not have any value in today’s world, while others claim that it can be beneficial for humanity in many ways. Personally, I agree with the latter view.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why history has little relevance to modern life. The first obvious reason is that the past is too disconnected with present since people’s lives have changed over time. Modern challenges, climate changes and technological development that today’s world has been facing are unprecedented, making historical stories obsolete. Another reason is that there are a number of other important subjects and fields that people should pay more attention. For example, learning IT technologies or doing genetic researches are more beneficial and necessary for humanity in comparison to spending time for historical lessons.

Despite the arguments above, I believe that without history we cannot built our present and future. Firstly, learning history is great chance to learn mistakes. Lessons about consequences of past errors helps us avoid repeating them. They also give us incredible knowledge to predict the future events. Thus, the saying “those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it” holds true. Secondly, cultural heritage of all nations has shaped by the help of history. Therefore, losing history means losing cultural identity. For instance, if we encourage children, teaching them history lessons at school, we can help them to understand their roots and foster a sense of identity.

In conclusion, although history may not provide direct solution to modern issues and seen as a unnecessary subject among other modern ones, I believe that its role is irreplaceable in preventing potential mistakes and maintaining cultural identity.