Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Some believe that it is good for the nation to host international sports events while others argue this is bad. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I believe this is bad for the hosting nation.

There is a great reason why it is good for the country to host national sports events. When nations are lost in hope for any reason, hosting national sports events would be a great encouragement for citizens in host countries to desire a brighter future. For example, after losing World War Two, the Japanese lost any hope for the future. However, when they hosted the Olympic games in 1964, this event rekindled peoples’ desire to pursue a brighter future as they all worked to gather to make this event successful. Clearly, it is ideal for any nation to host a national sports event to encourage its citizens.

On the other hand, others argue that it is bad to be a host for any national sports events. There is a lot to prepare for being a host for national events and events may not pay off for hosting countries. For example, when Los Angeles hosted the Olympic games in the 80’s, this event left a vast amount of debt for locals for several decades and taxes experienced a rapid rise for those who had not even experienced that event back in that time. Obviously, hosting national sports is not worthwhile.

In conclusion, looking at both views, I believe that hosting a national sports event is bad for hosting countries as people may suffer from long debts for many years.