Some people think that it is better to live in the past than in the previous century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether today’s world is better than the life in the previous century. While there are now some problems in the modern world, I believe that life is better than in the past.

Critics of the modern world cite various reasons to support their stance. With population growth and high inflation rates, the cost of living has risen dramatically in recent years. Given these financial difficulties, people now find it difficult to meet their basic needs like food, utilities, and tuition fees, let alone afford a comfortable lifestyle. In comparison, people did not face challenges in the previous century related to finance as many problems as we now face. A case in point is my home country, where people did not find it difficult to pay taxes, buy food, live in nice houses, and pay transportation fees during this period.

Despite these arguments, in my view, people are healthier and more educated. Both cities and villages have more healthcare facilities like well-equipped hospitals, modernized clinics, and state-of-the-art rehabilitation centers, which promote public well-being and improved quality of life. As a result, individuals now live longer and healthier without chronic health issues and cardiovascular diseases, thereby leading to life longevity and life satisfaction. Furthermore, people are now more educated than their past counterparts. There are more well-designed schools, universities, and vocational centers, well-equipped laboratories, tranquil and peaceful libraries, and technologically-rich learning environments, which serve as a catalyst for creating more technologically-savvy and competent generations.

In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks in the modern world, compared to the last century, in my opinion, people enjoy more in at present.