Some people think that it is better to live in the past than in the previous century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that living in the past was better than living in the modern era. While lives in past provide numerous advantages, I firmly believe that the convenience and satisfaction in the present century far surpass, leading to the enhancement in living conditions.

Why many people view the past as a better period is reasonable. Firstly, in previous era, many facilities and buildings were in primitive. Consequently, the air and noise pollution were not urgent problems, and individuals could enjoy fresh air, along with tranquil atmosphere without the noise stemming from vehicles, exhaust fumes emmitted from industrial institutions, and so on. Moreover, people in the past engaged stronger community bonds because of the lack of the Internet distraction. With the undevelopment of social media platforms, people had the inclination of having face-to-face interactions; thereby reinforcing human connection. Nevertheless, past still had drawbacks that prevent people from convenience.

With advancement in technology and services, merits in current century exceed those in the previous period. Technical and scientific progress offers individuals availability, efficiency; it also maximises the production in most of fields. For example, not only save efforts, time, and workforce’s salary, artificial intelligence also promotes the manufacturing process, providing more outcomes for owners. Furthermore, present century has revolutionized daily life, made education, communication, and work more accessible. To be more precise, Intenet connects communities without commuting, permitting working and teaching in distance. To illustrate, in COVID-19 pandemic period, when people could not go to work or have direct interactions, they still kept in touch and did not distract the procedure by remote working and learning. Therefore, modern era allows greater flexibility and the assistance in both professional and personal lives.

To sum up, while many suggest that living in the past was better owing to its peaceful environment and deeper connections, it also had different limitations. Current century is outwiegh the previous one because of their productive and flexible charateristics. Instead of longing for the past, we should embrace the growth for flourished generations.