Some people think that it is important to spend money on family celebrations. But some think that expensive celebrations are a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Celebrations, such as weddings or birthdays, are significant events in many cultures, often marked by elaborate spending. Therefore, one school of thought holds that allocating money for family festives is crucial, while others argue that it squanders money. This essay is going to delve into the two viewpoints before showing my agreement with the former statement.

On the one hand, the downsides of celebrating lavish family events are understandable to some extent. The chief among those could be the financial burden placed on certain underprivileged families, particularly in regions where outdated traditions still persist. The bride price can serve as a relevant example when the groom’s family is required to pay out a large sum of money in order to tie the knot with their partners. Additionally, organizing these events may evoke a sense of expectation from children, so if the budget does not allow for celebrating them in the future, then these expectations are not met, leading to dissatisfaction among them.

On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that spending money on family occasions is essential. A compelling reason is that it can strengthen the bond between family members. With the fast pace of life, individuals are often caught up with their own work, consequently, family celebrations are considered a valuable opportunity to reunite. For example, in Asian countries, where teenagers are constantly obliged to attend extra classes with the aim of achieving academic success while parents have to exert themselves in work to make a living, these events are special occasions for the whole family to gather and share their current matters including jobs and study life. This is further fortified by the fact that family reunions are once-in-life-time moments of the hosts. Weddings, for instance, are significant events for people to celebrate an important milestone in both the bride and groom’s lives.

In conclusion, while acknowledging the potential financial strain of extravagant family celebrations, I firmly believe that investing in these events is worthwhile. They play a vital role in strengthening familial relationships and marking significant life milestones.