Some people think that it is important to spend money on family celebrations. But some think that expensive celebrations are a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it is commonly believed that spending a significant amount of money on family celebrations is important. However, some people think that it is not necessary to do so, and that it is just a waste of money. This essay will discuss both views, while I believe that it is not essential to spend a lot of money for these events.

On the one hand, many people argue that a good celebration is one where a lot of money is spent. In fact, it can be rare for a whole family to be reunited, consequently, spending a lot of money could create good memories for everyone present. For example, when I was working in a restaurant in New Caledonia, almost every weekend we had large families coming to celebrate birthdays. Their bills were extremely high, but they were having a great time all together.

On the other hand, it is also widely believed that doing that is a waste of money. Indeed, it is not always necessary to pay a lot to enjoy a day with family. It is true that basic activities can be as enjoyable as expensive ones. For instance, in my home country, it is common to organise fishing contests between every generation of a family and at the end of the day, the group who caught the smallest fish has to cook for everyone else.

To conclude, although it can be useful to spend a lot of money on family celebrations to create unforgettable memories, I believe that it is not always needed. The most important thing is just to spend time with people you love.