Some people think that it is important to spend money on family celebrations. But some think that expensive celebrations are a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that spending funds on family gatherings such as weddings and birthday parties is important. Others, on the other hand, including me, believe that spending a lot of money on these types of celebrations is a big waste of money.

The view of proponents who believe it is important to spend money on family celebrations can be linked to several reasons. One of them is, making their day special and memorable for a long time. This is just because, they believe that one particular event such as wedding, happens once in their entire life. Another point of view, why some really keen on spending countless of money on celebrations is might be connected to the symbol of wealth. Some people just try to show off how rich they are by conducting celebrations and spending huge amount of money. For example, in my country Samarkand, most families usually try to surpass each other in terms of whose celebrations are better.

There are those, however, who argue that spending money on such occasions is a waste of money due to two reasons. Firstly, spending a big amount of money for just one day seems to be not only unnecessary, but also meaningless. Rather than spending every single money on one day, it is better to use those money for other purposes like travelling which might be great experience as well. Secondly, wasting huge amount of money on such events is economically incorrect. Because while celebrations often give short-lived joy, the financial problems they cause may last much longer. For example, many people in my country borrow money from others in order to celebrate weddings. Which in turn, may lead to negative consequences in the future.

In conclusion, although some people tend to conduct luxurious celebrations by spending much money in order to have unforgettable memories and look wealthy, I, however, see these celebrations as a waste of money because I think it is not true economically and can have negative effects.