Some people think that it’s a good idea to socialise with work colleagues during evenings and weekends. Other people think it’s important to keep working life completely separate from social life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that socializing with fellow co-workers during non working hours is a good idea while others believe that there should be a clear demarcation between occupational life and social life. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and in addition state why I humbly believe that work life and social life should be clearly distinct.

On the one hand, relating and interacting with colleagues outside work environment helps to build inter-personal relationship. Such relationship ensures synergy and cooperation in dealing and handling life personal challenges. This is due to the fact that it is much easier to share a personal problem with a close colleague than to a stranger. For instance, in 2021 when I was battling with depression due to the medical condition of my father. I gathered enough courage to share my problem with a very close colleague of mine, who recommended a hospital that will offer quality health service at a cheaper rate. This piece of advice was only possible because of my closeness to my colleague beyond the working environment.

On the other hand, separating work life from social life affords the opportunity to relate with entirely new sets of people with different ideology and view. This will enable one to learn and grow in other aspects of human endeavors beyond the occupational life. For example, as a health practitioner, I learnt software and computer programming because I socialize with friends who are software engineers. Therefore separating work life and social activity broadens knowledge.

In conclusion, I personally believe that it is paramount to separate work life from social life because such separation opens door for other ideas and opportunities outside the work space.