Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

It is usually believed that nurturing pets is beneficial for children, whereas there are some people who think that pets are unhygienic and threatening to our youngsters’ health. Although both views have their own supportive argument to prove that they are right, I claim that keeping pets is safe and sound for children.

First and foremost, people should recognize the fact that owning pets is absolutely advantageous. Thanks to raising pets, children can enhance their sense of responsibility and empathy. In taking pets to the vet, feeding them, children can learn how to take care of other living creatures. Pets also teach children how to be responsible for their actions and show affection for others. As time goes by, with the right orientation of parents, these kids can grow with mature and compassionate hearts. Not to mention, according to some surveys, it shows that children without pets are less likely to develop social skills than kids living with pets. This means that children with pets not only find it easier to make friends, but also live an optimistic life.

On the other hand, there are some reasons supporting the statement that pets are dangerous to children. People nowadays tend to nurture exotic pets such as snakes, illegal spiders, scorpions,… which are factors that lead to allergies or even death, so that if these animals approach our youngsters, there will be some unexpected consequences. However, the majority of children still stick with traditional ones and play with their pets under their parent’s supervision. Furthermore, one justification should not be ignored here is that pets might attack their owners due to their mentally instability or being tortured by their owners , that is a pretty sad truth.

In conclusion, while some people argue that pets are unhealthy and we may take the risk of playing with them, I am quite in favor of the idea saying that keeping pets is beneficial for children in many ways, at least they are vaccinated. However, each of us should consider carefully before reaching the final decision.