Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, some people claim keeping animals like cats and dogs at home is beneficial for youngsters, However, others strongly disagree with that and believe that it can be harmful. Although pets can be good friends, they can be dangerous and aggressive sometimes, which can cause serious problems.

Nowadays, having pets at young age has become popular, primarily because pets help children to become more sociable. Children can play with them when they are bored, or simply have time together when child feels lonely. A lot of children think that pets are their best friends and spending time with them becomes a memory for the rest of their lives. Despite the fact that animals cannot speak, they can teach young children about a true, loyal friendship and help them to become more confident when talking with strangers and new friends, which is the important step of socializing.

Eventhough these creatures can be good friends for younger children, it is highly important to know that they are still animals, and can show their true nature. Sometimes, when feel irritated, or simply out of boredom, they can become highly sensible and aggressive, and eventhough they cannot show it to older people, they can attack weak children, and even injure them, which can lead to serious health problems, and in some cases, death. Children become especially vulnerable when they are alone, without parents or another older person.

In my opinion, parents should not be afraid of keeping pets at home with their children, as they improve friendship and communication skills in infants. However, they should be careful and check if the animal has any aggressive behavior before buying and monitor the relationship of pet with their children, in order to prevent situations that were mentioned above.

In conclusion, pets are considered as important part of life of many kids, but extra caution from parents is not intruding.