Some people think that lawbreakers should be sent to prison. However, others think that better talents among those should be made to work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There was a debate that juvenile offenders should get the same punishment as adults, while this brings some certain benefits, I do not side with this proposal.

On the one hand, it is understandable why supporters of treating young offenders like adults. Juveniles do not deeply understand the legal consequences of their actions; therefore, applying harsh punishment to their illegal behaviors can instill fear in their mind, reducing the rates of teenagers committing crimes. Young offenders who lack cognitive development tend to re-offend after severe punishments, but strict laws can serve as a deterrent against youth crimes. However, juveniles are still in the process of development. Some crimes may cause short-term harm to society, but helping young criminals change enables other teenagers to be inspired, which is much more effective than applying harsh punishment to them.

On the other hand, adolescent brains are not fully developed affecting their decision-making skills also their emotional management. Moreover, dealing with young offenders should be rehabilitation rather than punishment as teenagers are more likely to change when they have the right guidance and support from their relatives. For example, in Norway law system tends to help young offenders to rehabilitate as a result the rates of reoffending are much lower than in other particular countries like the US. This treatment also shows the importance of projects that focus on education, counseling, or community service in turning juveniles into more productive individuals. Having the same treatment as adults, young criminals may develop serious criminal behavior from experienced inmates.

In conclusion, treating young people as adult neglect the importance of juvenile emotions. Therefore, it is better to rely on rehabilitation and education rather than applying harsh punishment.