"Some people think that learning art, music, and drama is essential at educational institutions, while others think these are a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

Art, music, and drama are longstanding controversial issues in the classroom. Some people think that these artistic disciplines are essential for a well-rounded education, but others feel they detract from more practical or academic pursuits.

Individuals who favor the arts in the classroom are likely to mention the unique benefits they provide. The arts foster creativity and self-expression, music aid in memory and discipline, and drama bring confidence and communication. These subjects also give students an emotional release, enabling them to deal with the stresses of adolescence and school. For others, the arts are not so much about becoming an artist or musician—they’re about discovering culture, being empathetic, and learning to think creatively and critically. In an increasingly complex world, these soft skills are not going to be less valuable, they’re going to be more valuable.

Alternatively, opponents propose that resources and time be allocated to more so-called core subjects like math, science, and literacy, which are traditionally seen as having more direct applicability to career prospects. In competitive school cultures, parents and policymakers may see arts education as too much of a luxury, particularly in the lean budget years for schools.

For my own part, the arts are far from idle time. Academic classes are quite worthwhile, but a purely technical education overlooks the larger purpose of education—to develop complete human beings. Mixing the arts with regular courses of instruction can foster intellectual as well as emotional growth. In the end, an equal balance in education that includes art, music, and drama sets students up better for work, yes, but for life.