"Some people think that learning art, music, and drama is essential at educational institutions, while others think these are a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

Art, music, and drama are longstanding controversial issues in the classroom. Some people think that these artistic disciplines are essential for a well-rounded education, but others feel they detract from more practical or academic pursuits.

Individuals who favor the arts in the classroom are likely to mention the unique benefits they provide. The arts foster creativity and self-expression, music aids in memory and discipline, and drama brings confidence and communication. These subjects also help students with emotional release, enabling them to deal with the stresses of adolescence and school. For others, the arts are not so much about becoming an artist or musician, they are about discovering culture, developing empathy, and learning to think creatively and critically. Also I think that learning anything other than the curriculum boosts soft skills.

Alternatively, critics propose that resources and time be allocated to more so-called core subjects like math, science, and literacy, which are traditionally seen as having more direct applicability to career prospects. In competitive school cultures, parents and policymakers may see arts education as too much of a luxury, particularly during tight budget years for schools.

Academic classes are quite worthwhile, but a purely technical education overlooks the larger purpose of education, to develop complete human beings. Mixing the arts with regular courses of instruction can foster intellectual as well as emotional growth. In the end, an equal balance in education that includes art, music, and drama better prepares students not only for work but also for life.