Some people think that more money should be spent on protecting endangered species while others think it is a waste of valuable money. What is your opinion?

There are many problems in the world that need addressed, and naturally people are going to differ in their views on how to solve these problems. The most common view is that humanity’s efforts should go towards saving human beings, but this essay will argue that it is better to invest in saving animals.

To begin with, there are already countless charities and government efforts being directed towards saving human beings around the planet. Trillions of dollars are spent each year on education, food, shelter, and healthcare for people all around the world, and yet there are nearly eight billion humans. If anything, our population is far bigger than it should be. Yet one just needs to look at the animal populations to see that they are in free fall, which is causing the collapse of entire ecosystems. Clearly, we are spending time and effort where it is not needed.

Humans are more or less capable of looking after themselves, but animals are not. With a population of eight billion, armed with technology and vast pools of knowledge, humans will be fine if more money switched to protecting animals instead. It would be better to devote efforts to saving whales, orangutans, and tigers than attempting to save human lives. Ultimately, this would benefit us all by allowing us to live in a healthy and diverse environment, rather than continuing to overcrowd a planet that is already painfully full of people.

In conclusion, it is far better to devote time and money to saving animal populations than to continue wasting it on people. Clearly, the human population is doing fine and animals are going extinct every day, so they need our help more.