Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to new buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people have the opinion that aged buildings should be demolished to make space for new buildings. In my point of view, I believe that mature buildings come in two types, abandoned need to be flattened and historic structures need to be preserved.

On one hand, I believe that there are two main reasons that governments should knock down abandoned buildings. To begin with, abandoned buildings could be a dangerous place for pedestrians due to its poor condition and unaffordable safety, making it could be a spot for the criminal to stay. Secondly, abandoned structures might block a planned way and cause loss of aesthetics of the surrounding landscapes. Lots of buildings have been abandoned in countries and give visitors a bad impression. Replacing such buildings with a new and modern one will assist the renewed need of the city.

On the other hand, historical structures should be preserved due to one main reason. First of all, ancient monuments contain a lot of precious historical value through the age of our ancestors. In some countries that have suffered wars for a long time such as Vietnam, conserving historical buildings is required since it represents how the Vietnamese went through the war and still stand to nowaday. In addition, historical structures such as Hoi An in Vietnam can also be a tourist attraction due to its unique architecture and atmosphere. As a result, it contributes to tourism and makes Hoi An a more popular overseas destination.

In conclusion, not every aged building should be knocked down but also depends on which kind of building it is. Historical structures must be conserved to serve for multi purposes such as educational, tourism among others.