Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to new buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of thought holds that existing aged buildings require a huge amount of money to restore and maintain. Therefore, the demolition of aged constructions should be destroyed to create space for newly-built constructions. From my perspectives, I partly with this viewpoint due to some reasons.

On the one hand, the preservation of old buildings, especially traditional design houses, can confer upon economic growth and historical value. As for the former, ancient towns are highlighted by exotic structure and intriguing design can attract travelers to visit and explore, promoting the development of tourism for host country and creating many job opportunities for locals in tourism seasons. As a result, local residents can gain a better income, contributing to nation’s GDP. For example, Hoi An ancient town has been one of the most popular tourist attraction in Viet Nam, where many international tourists usually have flocked to, thereby improving professional life of locals and

promote revenue growth. Regarding historical values, living in a conventional building reflect the way people live, work and create their communities. Some of them relate to historical events and now become the cultural identity of the cities in which located.

On the other hand, it is understandable why many individuals advocate constructing modern buildings. First and foremost for my supports is safety and maintenance concerns as many houses were erected decades ago. In the past, scarcity of modern infrastructure and materials impeded building a good in quality of many houses, and thus it can pose a serious threat on people living these houses. Luckily, in the day and age, integration of technological advancements in construction has become increasingly common, which supports people in choosing a suitable house for basic needs like sound, light, and air quality. Another reasons is that overpopulated problems has been a thorny issue in metropolises, increasing accommodation needs. This is evidenced by Ho Chi Minh city, in recent years, due to high population density house prices has skyrocketed, which renders locals can not cover, while some old buildings do not have practical value still existing.

In conclusion, I partly support the statement of preserving old buildings. However, I reckon that people should consider carefully before reaching the final decision.