Some people think that older school children should learn a wide range of subjects to acquire more knowledge, while other people believe they should learn a small number of subjects in detail

With changes in societal norms and evolving perspectives, people have differing views on whether older schoolchildren should learn a wide of range of subjects or detailed small number of subjects. While both views hold some truth, I believe that the former view carries more weight.

Proponents of the latter view cite various reasons to support their argument. Perhaps one of the most advantages of learning limited courses in detail is that it offers pupils to be a master of specific field. In a time when AI enters into workforce, being skilled in one area helps them gain a competitive edge and secure their job prospects in the future. Moreover, advancements in technology requires to work continuously on what they are learning. This implies that it might have an issue with time due to massive subjects to pursue. As a result, they just gather information rather than knowledge. Finally, some subjects are likely to be useless for the other students if these do not align with their future goals. For example, one might want to be a translator after finishing her school. But she has to learn chemistry and biology, which does not need to learn such complex things because of school regulations.

Despite these arguments, I remain convinced that high school children should learn different kinds of courses and foster knowledge. In today’s fast paced world, having extra skills and knowledge can be beneficial for their lives. For example, there is no need to learn math for someone who wants to be a lawyer. Nevertheless, in an era characterized by finance, having mathematical skills aid people navigate their monetary issues and address them. Furthermore, having only specific knowledge fails individuals to discuss with their peers about everyday topics since one does not have knowledge on it. This, in turn, leads to disenfranchisement and loneliness.

in conclusion, although I acknowledge the upside of learning a limited number of subjects, pursuing diverse courses brings more benefits such as their potential future usage and the opportunity for joining discussions and talks when they are out of the school.