Some people think that online learning is more effective than traditional classroom learning. What are the advantages and disadvantages of online education?

The phenomenon of e-learning being considerably more efficient than passive education has gained widespread attention, eliciting various opinions on its merits and demerits. This essay explores its drawbacks and benefits, ultimately drawing a reasoned conclusion in the forthcoming paragraphs along with apt examples and reasons.

One of the most compelling advantages of remote education is its flexibility. This is largely due to the fact that students can learn at their own pace and schedule. It could be prominent to working professionals and students who want to attend lectures worldwide. A good example is Coursera, a platform that helps pupils attain knowledge from top universities and experts through lecture scheduling. Additionally, another noteworthy benefit is that web-based learning is cost-efficient and energy-proficient as it helps students who could not attend school have the biggest opportunity to gain knowledge, and transportation costs are saved. Adding to it, some online courses are also free, giving leverage over face-to-face learning types. Therefore, schooling through virtual learning gives out multifarious positive reasons to think before moving to formal education.

On the flip side, the e-learning concept has diverse disadvantages. Chiefly, the most significant drawback is the lack of organization and discipline among students. This can be attributed to not having virtual interactions among peers and mentors, which leads to feelings of demotivation and isolation, which grow due to not getting feedback or collaboration from the teachers. For instance, a survey was conducted in Tokyo in 2020, which shows that 60% of folks fail in their studies due to a lack of knowledge and the less value of students’ engagement with their tutors, which gives them the feeling of needing more confidence. Moreover, another substantial downside is technical difficulties arising from internet activity, as online education relies on connectivity, which can cause technical failure due to some glitches. Thus, despite its benefits the drawbacks of remote learning cannot be overlooked.

To recapitulate, there are several pros and cons to online education. While the need for solid self-discipline or limited one-on-one interaction poses specific challenges, its benefits are substantial enough to justify its continued adoption.