Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities. Discuss, what is your opinion?

Many citizens presume that it’s a vital and sufficient contribution for paying taxes to their society, but the others believe that each person in a country can have more responsibilities as people of society than only paying. I will share some discussions about both perspective and my viewpoint.

On the one hand, each person needs to pay taxes that are enough, being agreed by many people. The advocates of this view think that money is enough for developing nations. In real life with many needs of residents, the taxes are used to strengthen the country’s infrastructure and workforce such as hospitals, health-care system, parks, money for government jobs,.. Because of these contributions of taxes for the country, supporters of this view more and more believe just taxes are sufficient to meet the necessities that people need. Moreover, they assume that taxes represent their hard work and a great responsibility for the nation.The higher a person’s income is, the more tax they have to pay. Therefore, many people believe their hard work and dedication are reflected in the amount of tax they pay, and paying taxes gives them a sense of fulfillment as responsible citizens.

On the other hand, members of a nation who have to have more responsibilities than only paying taxes are supported by many others. Opponents of only paying taxes are enough because they find that only money is not a perfect measure to help the country completely go ahead. A nation which struggles with many challenges needs to have unity which originated from helping elderly people, people in need, people with disabilities, disadvantaged children ,… Besides that, they also presume that a person having many responsibilities is a safety for the country. In the case, a country being suddenly affected by war will have talented individuals and brave people, motivated by patriotism and a strong sense of responsibility, who are always willing to stand up and defend their country.

In conclusion, in my opinion , the problem is not whether each person is compelled to have responsibility or not, the problem is the awareness that people feel with their own nation. With real small action, even one inspirational, or that activity made by young, mature and elderly people that also makes big attention for the nation.