Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities. Discuss, what is your opinion?

It is proposed that paying taxes is a comprehensive way to make contributions to the country’s development. However, others, including me, believe that paying taxes alone is not effective enough, thus further responsibilities should be shouldered on citizens to promote a well-developed society.

Proponents of maintaining society through the tax system often cite the responsibility for social development should be placed on the government. They say, by funding the government budgets, the authorities are able to allocate financial resources to upgrading infrastructure, building educational institutions, and enhancing public healthcare systems, which can benefit society as a whole. Furthermore, these days people are consumed by their professional and personal commitment in modern settings, making it unfeasible for them to take on additional social responsibilities. However, this perspective overlooks the fact that human beings are social creatures, who need to maintain social bonds with surrounding people. If people only rely on the government to maintain and develop society through funding government budgets, they might gradually lose their sense of responsibility towards social issues. In the long term, this tendency can weaken social connections, causing people to become apathetic with others and societal issues, which ultimately has a detrimental effect on social structure and growth.

I am convinced that citizens should play a more active role in creating a developed society. First, raising opinions over political and socioeconomic issues should be practiced among citizens to promote a fair and equal society. For example, citizens should speak up over gender discrimination in some Asian countries to reduce inequality and encourage social progress. Additionally, participation in social activities should be encouraged because these activities allow attendants to connect with their neighbors and their peers, thereby strengthening friendly relationships and fostering supportive and close-knit communities. Also, despite the fact that the government can use tax revenue to address environmental issues, government intervention by itself is not effective enough to reverse environmental degradation. For example, regarding soil pollution, while the authorities can invest in waste treatment plants and impose strict regulations on agricultural practices, individuals should reduce plastic consumption and adopt a more environmentally friendly lifestyle. Only through such coordinated action between government and individuals can lasting environmental progress be made.

In conclusion, while financial contribution through tax systems can play a significant role in supporting infrastructure and social welfare, it should be executed in parallel with citizens’ involvement in other aspects of society including political, social and environmental matters in order to create a successful society.