Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is contended that shopping bags made of plastic should be phased out as they pave the way for detrimental consequences for the environment such as water and soil contamination. Personally, I strongly agree with this viewpoint as these issues may exacerbate the ecological situation and lead to the loss of animal habitats and extinction of both species and plants. Besides, I am inclined to believe that travelers around the world usually prefer to visit clean countries.

To begin with, the primary reason for my opinion is that plastic bags are non-degradable so they may either pollute or even destroy flora and fauna. For instance, it is scientifically proven that plastic bags contain harmful chemicals for nature and leave a carbon footprint. Thus, the authorities should promote environmentally friendly practices and encourage people to use reusable bags, which are degradable. Otherwise, continuous usage of non-recyclable bags may deteriorate the situation and give rise to animal extinction and loss of natural habitats. Hence, this demonstrates that plastic bags impact the environment negatively, while eco-bags may become a better alternative for eco-friendly proponents.

Moreover, polluted areas may act as a deterrent for tourists, contributing to the economy negatively. For instance, recent research from CNN has revealed that India and Bangladesh lose plenty of visitors every year due to the significant ecological problems: water, soil and air pollution are widespread as people usually neither recycle nor reuse things in these countries. Since these countries lose significant funds for their budget as tourism is undeveloped, the governments there are now taking strict measures to make the situation better and constrain non-degradable items. As a result, this illustrates that the ecological situation plays a pivotal role from the economic standpoint, proving that environmentally friendly bags must be essential.

In conclusion, while plastic bags can be convenient for some people, they influence the ecosystem negatively. In return, the stagnating ecological situation repels tourists so I do believe that sustainable eco-friendly practices must be promoted and plastic shopping bags should be gradually pro

hibited.