Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Plastic shopping bags are a major cause of land and sea pollution. I completely agree that they should be banned to protect our environment.There are strong arguments for banning them, but some people believe a ban is not the best solution.

One primary reason for banning plastic bags is that they cause a lot of environmental harm. They are used for a very short time but persist in the environment for hundreds of years to break down in nature. When they are thrown away, they often end up in landfills and natural landscapes. Furthermore, plastic bags are easily carried by wind and water into oceans and waterways.

Second,plastic bags harm wildlife. Animals on land and in the ocean often mistake plastic for food. When they consume it, the plastic blocks their stomachs, causing them to starve to death. Sea turtles , for example, often mistake floating plastic bags for jellyfish.This is very sad problem.

Some people might say that plastic bags are very convenient and cheap. They are easy for shoppers to use. However, the damage they do to our planet is too great. We can use reusable cloth bags instead, which are better for our environment. Many shops sell cloth bags, like those you can buy it easily.

In conclusion, the environmental harm caused by plastic shopping bags is a serious issue. Banning them would help save animals and keep our planet clean for the future.